Melvin Drum Chief Deputy of the Year Award

The Melvin Drum Chief Deputy of the Year Award is the Texas Chief Deputies Association’s highest honor, named for Melvin Drum who was the Chief Deputy of Ochiltree County. He was killed in the line of duty while on a traffic stop involving a domestic disturbance. Chief Drum was not only an outstanding Chief Deputy but also was extremely involved in his community, especially with youth activities.

Recipients of this award embody not only the qualities set forth by Chief Drum but are also individuals who have provided exemplary service to the Texas Chief Deputies Association.

The deadline for nominations is May 1, 2018. The recipient of the award will be recognized at the Texas Chief Deputies Association Banquet on Thursday evening, June 14, 2018 at our annual conference in Kerrville, Texas.

  • Nominations


    The deadline for this year's nominations is May 1, 2018.
    Nominations are now open.


    Send nominations to:
    Wayne Floyd
    Ochiltree County Sheriff’s Office
    21 SE 6th Street
    Perryton, TX 79070
    Office 806-435-8000

  • Past Recipients

      2017 - David Johnson - Potter County
    2016 – Clay Barton – Kerr County 2015 – Randy McDaniel – Montgomery County
    2014 – Jesse Flores – Dallas County 2013 – Butch Davis – Walker County
    2012 – Debbie Miller – Ector County 2011 – George Arispe – Sshleicher County
    2010 – Cheryl Martin – Andrews County 2009 – Bobby Garmon – Smith County
    2008 – Charles Sullins – Ellis County 2007 – Ed Krevit – Midland County
    2006 – David Warren – Nolan County 2005 – David Thurman – Randall County
    2004 – Bo DeArmond – Moore County  

    ©2017 Texas Chief Deputies Association